top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The Love of Yoga

I always wanted to try it, but never found the time. I always wondered what it was like, but was afraid of doing some of those “infamous” positions that seemed ominous. Can I really bend like that? Where does my leg go?!? What if I fall? Well, I’m so glad I stopped questioning myself, ended that inner chatter and finally decided to practice Yoga last year.

Ooohhh what I’ve been missing!!! Though I’m a beginner, I can still feel the benefits and awakening shift in my life because of Yoga--and it’s all thanks to my friend and Yoga Instructor, Laura Gotlin. I had the extreme honor of interviewing Laura and discovered her absolute love, passion, and dedication for Yoga, and I know you will too.

From just my first session with her, Laura made this beginner feel very comfortable, confident and willing to try something new. I became inspired to truly understand the origins of the poses I was practicing and what benefits to the mind, body and soul Yoga offered. I found a great book which I recommend by Yoga Instructor Cory Martin called, Yoga for Beginners: 35 Simple Yoga Poses To Calm Your Mind and Strengthen Your Body. Cory mentions that even though there are many reasons why people practice yoga, and there are many styles of Yoga to practice--the most important experience we receive from Yoga is “Being In The Now.”

As an Angelic Life Coach, Yoga has enhanced my meditation levels and new ways of connecting with my inner self. Yoga reminds me to make time for me, to replenish and be kind and nurturing to my being. From taking Laura’s weekend classes, I’ve also been motivated to purchase some of the accessories used during class for my home—in case there are days I can’t make it to class. I just don’t want to miss a week without Yoga! To help support and balance my poses I bought bolsters, straps, blocks, and blankets. A great site to find these are on YogaDirect.com. What’s also encouraging about Yoga is that you can practice anywhere in your home that you feel brings you the most energy. There’s no right or wrong place in your home.

I hope that you find the time and your own personal reasons for trying Yoga and that you let go of any excuses not to. You’ll be very happy you did! Well, without further chatter on my part, let me introduce to you again, Laura Gotlin….

Andrea: Laura, tell us about yourself. Laura: I'm a proud 350 Hour Advanced Yoga Instructor! I have dedicated my life to empowering others through the practice of yoga, essential oils and wellness workshops that are accessible to EVERY BODY! I am trained in traditional Vinyasa flow combined with influences from Hatha, Iyengar, Kundalini and Ashtanga Yoga. I'm registered with the Yoga Alliance and certified in CPR, First Aid, and RTE. I am also the Co-Director of Camp Good Grief, a not for profit organization on Staten Island, that provides weekend camps for bereaved children and teens ages 7-16. I currently reside on Staten Island with my Chihuahua, Ginny.

When were you first interested in practicing/teaching Yoga? Who/what inspired you? My first experience with Yoga was in 2004 when I attended a Vinyasa class in Long Beach, California. Yoga had become increasingly popular on the west coast and I wanted to experience it firsthand. I continued to practice Yoga wherever I could, whenever I could, from that day forward. It wasn't until 2014, 10 years later, when my stars became aligned and the Universe had big plans for me. At the time, I was working a job that brought very little joy and fulfillment into my life. I was heavily practicing Yoga and meditation to see me through this dark time, and then the light I had been waiting for appeared. I left my job and set off to become a Yoga teacher!

How long did it take to become certified? Where did you train? I completed an intensive three-week 200 HR teacher training program with Frog Lotus Yoga (FLY) International in Cahuita, Costa Rica in January 2015. I went on to train for two weeks for an additional 150 Advanced Teacher Training hours with FLY in Lake Atitlan, Guatemala in December 2015. The program is recognized internationally through the Yoga Alliance USA and UK. It is an exceptionally high quality, fully comprehensive & life changing experience. FLY Vinyasa Flow Yoga is a focused, creative and intelligent flow style, with an emphasis on alignment, form, and safety. It can easily be adapted to different levels and students.

What classes do you teach? Do you have any favorite classes? I currently teach Vinyasa Flow, Beginner, Gentle, Restorative, Yin, Mommy and Me, Kids, Family Yoga, Yoga in the workplace, Children with special needs, Adults with disabilities and Chair yoga. I also lead guided meditations and mindfulness training. I can't say that I have a favorite class. I feel very lucky that I have the opportunity to teach to so many different populations of people.

Do you have a preferred time of day to teach Yoga or just to practice by yourself? There is something very special about welcoming in your day with Yoga. Being able to practice at sunrise, honoring the sun just as it was originally practiced in Ancient India.

What empowers you the most about Yoga? It is not only a physical practice but encompasses mind, body, and soul. Therefore, you are focusing on your complete well being instead of targeting one area.

Is there a specific age group that you notice that attends your classes? The beauty of Yoga is that it can really be practiced by EVERYBODY. If you can breathe, then you can practice Yoga. My youngest student is six months old and my oldest student is in their eighties.

Besides teaching on Staten Island, are there any other areas that you frequently teach? I'm based in Staten Island but I've taught in Manhattan, Brooklyn, Windham, N.Y., and New Jersey. I'm available to teach in all 5 boroughs and the tri-state area.

Do you travel abroad and teach Yoga as well? Do you do Yoga retreats? I had the incredible opportunity to teach in the beach town of Puerto Viejo in Costa Rica. My classes there were held on the beach and on top of jungle platforms. I have extreme wanderlust and hope to continue to teach abroad, including destination yoga retreats.

You also include essential oils with your Yoga classes, which are quite beneficial and relaxing. Tell us more about that. I'm a Wellness Advocate for doTERRA certified pure therapeutic grade (cptg) essential oils. These oils are completely free of any artificial fillers and contaminates. The use of oils dates back to the Ancient civilizations of India, China, Greece, Egypt, and Rome before the introduction of modern medicine. Oils are derived from plants, trees, flowers, stems and roots. They are completely natural and have many different uses. Each oil contains emotional and physical properties. I enjoy incorporating these oils into my classes and workshops to enhance the mood of my students and the environment in which they are practicing.

What type of clothing do you recommend students to wear while practicing Yoga? I recommend that students wear clothing that is form fitting. You don't want to have to worry about tripping over your pants or your shirt lifting up over your head. In addition, form fitting clothing helps teachers to get a better view of your body. This helps us to make sure that you are in a pose correctly to avoid injury. Socks are not worn to allow a solid connection with your feet and the ground. You do not have to spend a ton of money on yoga clothing. There are many affordable and durable options out there.

Tell us more about Yoga for children. How well do children respond to it? I love my time teaching Yoga to kids! The traditional Yoga poses are renamed to make them "kid friendly" and modified for the different needs of children. During my kid's Yoga classes, I focus on mindfulness, meditation, breath work and physical movement. You have to make the classes both fun and beneficial. Kids are a great reminder of living in the present moment, expressing how you feel, tuning into your playful side and the importance of laughter. These children always make me smile and laugh! Their response to Yoga has been tremendous and I feel extremely lucky to be able to share this experience with them! Due to the varying developmental stages of children, classes are broken up as follows: Mommy and Me Baby Yoga- 2 1/2 months old to Crawling, Mommy and Me Toddler Yoga- Walking until 2 years old, Mommy and Me Preschooler- Ages 3-5, Mommy and Me Kids- ages 6-10.

What are some new—upcoming classes that you’ll be teaching? I'm teaching a brand new Mommy and Me Baby Yoga class at Zen Trading Post, 1600 Richmond Rd., S.I., N.Y. 10304. I have the incredible opportunity to teach Adults with Disabilities Yoga at the JCC, 1466 Manor Rd., S.I., N.Y. 10314 through June, I'm also teaching preschool aged children in Early Intervention Programs, Family Yoga- focusing on children with special needs (by appointment), a NEW Beginners Yoga class and Restorative Yoga class both being held at Changes Wellness Center, 14 Rockland Avenue, S.I., N.Y. 10306.

Coming in May and throughout the summer, I will be teaching weekly classes in parks and beaches. Please inquire about days, times and rates.

Would you like to see Yoga taught in schools as a gym requirement? Absolutely! It is already being offered in many high schools as a physical education option. I would love to see that expand to the elementary and middle school levels.

Would you be interested in teaching Yoga in schools? I'm very blessed to already have the opportunity to teach yoga in some preschools and private schools. The children call me, "Yoga Lady!" Any opportunity that I have to speak with an educator, I bring up the importance of incorporating a yoga program for children in schools.

Do you have any advice for Yoga beginners or even advanced ones? Slow down and surrender to the process! So much of our days are spent rushing around and thinking about what has to be done next. Allow your physical yoga practice to be your time to focus on the present moment, cultivate mindfulness, and the creation of inner peace.

Where can you be reached if someone wants to book a class or private session with you? I can be reached through my website, www.lauragotlinyoga.com, or via email, yogahustler@gmail.com. You can also find me on Facebook and Instagram, @yogahustler, and Twitter @yogahustlerlng.

bottom of page