top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Dealing With College Stress

With exam week coming up, the pressure is at an all-time high. It’s that time again to break out the energy drinks, pull out the textbooks, and prepare for an all-nighter. The stress of school can be overwhelming and you’re not alone in this. Here, I list some of the ways to relax before the big exam week.

Social Butterfly:

With an almost endless pile of books, homework, papers, and exams it can become overwhelming to get it all done, maybe taking the strength of Wonder Woman to even complete all of it but don’t worry, you got this. It’s time to talk about the social life. Plan a study session with your friends or even take your nose out of the books and go hang out. Whatever you like to do for fun, add friends to the mix. It’s a perfect way to cute out stress before and after exams. Balance is key to success. Just make sure you’re still making time to study. Going out to the movies, eating out at IHOP in the middle of the night, even hanging out at social events the school offered were ways my friends and I distressed. Even study sessions with the girls improved my grades phenomenally with a plus side of having fun.

"Om" the stress away: The path to reducing stress during exams is to take a little bit of time for yourself. Practiced by many yogis alike, meditation can be a calming factor during stressful times. Even just practicing deep breaths will make all the difference. But don’t worry if meditation isn’t for you, there are other options. Even though I had exams and papers due soon, I pulled myself out of my dorm room and headed over to the gym. A good sweat session made all the difference during those times.

I always found myself coming back for more and it helped me not only get some shut eye but helped me focus more on my homework and papers. Zumba was my go-to for exercise. The teachers were great, vivacious and motivating, yelling across the room for us to keep moving, keep going, and don’t stop. The music was even more of a drive to continue and I really enjoyed it. Find something you like, may it be dancing, exercising, or meditation, as long as it helps you de-stress before that final.

Beauty Sleep: I remember those long nighttime cram sessions, with my head in a textbook and being two nods away from drifting off to dreamland. Even typing my life and sleep away as I try to finish up a paper I procrastinated for way too long. Sleep is something of a rarity and power naps are our saviors. Unfortunately, naps are just not enough. Students need their full eight-hour rest in order to even function properly and be able to clearly focus on the upcoming exams, papers, and projects. As much as a cram session is needed before a test, it’s just isn’t a good idea.

Grades are at stake but so is your health. As stressful as school can be, sleep is the ultimate bestie, the one that you can rely on that will help you conquer classes and homework like a boss. Sleep reduces stress. You’ll ace that exam with a clear and calming mind. Good luck, I know you’ll conquer it like a #girlboss!

bottom of page