top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

How Exercise Made Me Better At Work

I exercise every day. Even if I press snooze a couple of times I make sure that I get at least 15 minutes in. There’s nothing exciting there, except that I make sure that I exercise first thing in the morning every morning. Why? Because, it boosts my mood, energy levels, improves sleep, and science has even proven that it increases productivity. |

First off let’s talk about the facts. By now we all know that exercise is good for our health. Yet, did you know that it is also good for your mental health? A study at the University of Bristol showed that exercise increases blood flow to the brain, which in turn increases work performance. Another study at Swinburne’s University and Brain Sciences Institute showed regular exercise showed a 4% increase in overall brain function.

A morning exercise routine will also keep your energy levels high all day long. According to a study in the American Journal of Physiology, breaking into a sweat for at least 20 minutes first thing in the morning will give you sustained energy levels throughout the day.

Now, let’s talk about my experience. I’ve switched from exercising after work to before breakfast all within 24 hours. I had woken up early one day and I decided why not exercise? For me, it's usually weight's, a run, or yoga. I’m not sure which one of those I did on that first morning, but I can say that the difference in my day was INCREDIBLE! The grogginess that I previously approached the first few hours of a workday with was gone.

My energy levels were high and I felt focused. Plus, I didn’t experience that usual 2 pm slump. Speaking of feeling focused, you could say that my morning exercise routine gets my creative juices flowing. My mind is alert to the task at hand and ideas come to me a lot easier. This could also have something to do with the link between exercise and reduced stress levels. When you’re less stressed, your brain functions better. As a writer that means that my words flow freely allowing me to be more effective and efficient at work.

Another reason that I love a nice morning sweat is the discipline needed to wake up early each and every morning. It sets the tone for the rest of the day and I find it easier to stick with a tough task after I’ve pushed through the last five minutes of a difficult run earlier that day.

All in all, I’m completely sold on the idea of waking up early for a nice run or yoga. I perform better at work and when I get my heart pumping I tend to fall asleep faster at night. Do you exercise first thing in the morning? How does it make you feel?

bottom of page