top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

How to Stand Out on Social Media

As a freelancer, I know a thing or two about building my business and entrepreneurship up on my own. I do this by networking and accepting guidance from fellow freelancers and reading material. It’s not easy, but it’s also liberating to have control over everything. Even though I like staying away from social media sometimes and wish that I can do without it, it is (unfortunately) necessary modern technology nowadays to use as a business platform. It helps gain attention for you and your work. I personally only use Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn right now (never got into Instagram), but usually any social networking has these following advantages. |

1) Social media gives you an identity online. Social media life does not equal real life, but it does tend to hold a candle in the business world. Whenever I want to connect with someone professionally, I always look to see if they have a social media account or, more importantly, a website with contact information such as a contact form or an email address and phone number. This tells me that he or she means business (pun somewhat intended) and that they are indeed attainable. If an individual does not have easily locatable accounts or websites, then it is hard for people to connect with them for work. Social media and websites are also nice devices to display past work.

2) Stay active on social media. However, if such accounts or websites exist but aren’t active, meaning that your last tweet was posted on like, for example, “29 August 2015,” I am less likely to follow you or reach out because I think you simply don’t use the account anymore and therefore I won’t gain anything from it. I’d think that my message to you would forever go unanswered anyway. Accounts like that look like a ghost town and if you want to have a network, you should probably continue posting content. What you want to do is keep updating your websites and social media sites so that they stay relevant and show others your activities. I try to blog at least once every month too.

3) Live tweet. I use social media as a way to share my blog posts and published articles, but I also live tweet. This obviously usually happens on Twitter, although sometimes it takes place on Facebook as well. Live tweeting means to make comments about something you are witnessing, usually TV programs, onto social media as it happens. This is a way to demonstrate your personality along with your business. I used to think that I shouldn’t combine the two and have been advised as such in the past, but a friend told me that it shows that you are a real person with real interests. I believe I also saw a tweet about appreciating the tweets that don’t constantly post about business. (Although, I am considering an additional Twitter account for only my writing, media, and business…) For best results, live tweet something that goes hand in hand with your freelancing. For instance, I usually write about arts and entertainment, so I am most likely to live tweet about the Oscars or the Tonys. Rarely do I live tweet the Super Bowl, but it’s not against the rules. Now, live tweeting has its cons too because while you are concentrating on the live tweeting, you could be missing out on your enjoyment of the show. This being said, you don’t have to live tweet every little thing and can take a break. However, some pros are that followers may look forward to your comments and it starts a conversation with you and fresh potential connections. They will most likely find you if you use the proper #hashtag.

4) Follow and interact with like-minded individuals. Don’t be too shy to follow certain accounts, like a post or tweet, or send emails, direct messages, or friend requests to fellow professionals. This begins new communication and you always want to remain in communication with others. When people email or message you, make sure you respond in a timely manner. This shows your reliability and determination. If you follow a certain theme of accounts on Twitter, soon Twitter will be suggesting accounts to you and suggesting your account to others. Then this turns into a “they follow you, you follow them” and vice versa scenario. The same thing goes for Linkedin, which is your best option for business because everyone is on LinkedIn for that reason. LinkedIn is a great way to build your resume onto a social media site.

5) Be careful of what you post. This is a lesson everyone should brush up on once in a while, including me. ALWAYS BE PROFESSIONAL ON SOCIAL MEDIA. Make sure that everything is well written (especially if you are a writer!) and appropriate. Sure acronyms, abbreviations, and emojis are acceptable in the social media universe, so therefore fine, but you also always want to be decipherable. I’ll even argue that the Twitter 140-character count could help a writer improve his or her condensing skills. You have the right to use social media for free speech, but be aware that if you share anything slightly controversial, you could cause a reaction and start an argument. There's always a time and a place to express your beliefs and you might want to just keep your business accounts for what they are intended. This being said, you might want to reconsider constantly posting anything political. It sure is tempting, but it is a very touchy subject, especially in this day and age. Even if you have a handful of those agreeing with you, you don’t want to alienate followers and patrons who do not. Plus, it can get irritating for those who receive your posts. I’m one of those who are likely to unfollow or mute individuals if I see them post something political or even retweet such. It’s just not something I want to see to ruin my otherwise positive, professional day.

bottom of page