top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Oscars: What Took Our Breath Away

Can you believe it? I certainly can’t. I didn’t even see it coming and neither did the rest of the world or Twitter for that matter. The memes were cranked out and they had me close to tears they were so funny. But before I get ahead of myself, I want to start off by saying congrats to the award winners. I am so happy for all of them. That being said, let’s get right into it. I want to emphasize that these are my thoughts and opinions on the Oscars. |

So, I’m watching the Oscars and something tells me to look at twitter and see what people are saying. So that’s what I did. I ‘borrowed’ my friend’s account in order to see what the merry ole’ folks of twitter have to say about the Oscars and Lo and Behold, they had a lot to say. Twitter, along with the Oscars, made my night. Don’t worry I’ll post some of my favorite tweets on the article.

Twitter had a lot to say when finding out that Suicide Squad won for Hair and Makeup. I am actually proud of them since I absolutely loved that movie. But you have to give them prompts for what they created – Side by side with the wardrobe, they all created costumes people loved. Many girls dressed up, head to toe, as SS’s Harley Quinn for Halloween. I loved how they had celebrities read out mean tweets about them. Some of them were funny totally funny and harsh. “Please welcome Ben Affleck and Guest.” This cracked me up so much when Ben Affleck and Matt Damon walks onto the stage.

It was so amazing seeing Viola Davis accept the award for Best Supporting Actress for her role in Fences. She is such a fantastic actress that’s able to branch into many different movie genres; Action, Drama, TV. She can do it all! She deserves as much recognition for her talent as possible. I loved her speech so much. She brought everyone to tears.

(Credit:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/viola-davis-oscars-speech-totally-steals-the-show_us_58b05ae5e4b060480e073b3b)

It was really amazing to see three phenomenal women - Janelle Monae, Taraji P. Henson, and Octavia Spencer - present Katherine Johnson, African American Mathematician played by Taraji P. Henson in Hidden Figures, onto the stage. That whole scene gave me goosebumps it was so amazing.

(Credit:

http://www.futuroquotidiano.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/katherine-johnson-in-becoming-nasas-african-american-mathematician.png http://media.philstar.com/images/the-philippine-star/headlines/20170227/katherine-johnson-nasa-math-oscars.jpg )

Mahershala Ali took home the award for best-supporting actor for his role in Moonlight, which also took home Best Film and Best Adapted Screenplay. I give an entire list of award winners below. His speech was fantastic along with the director, Barry Jenkins of Moonlight. “It’s not about you. It’s about these characters… You’re in service to these stories and these characters.” Mahershala Ali said as he accepted his award. I saw Moonlight recently and I think it is okay. I really like the storyline and the characters in the film. Be sure to check out the full speech for yourself from all the winners.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/mahershala-ali-becomes-the-first-muslim-actor-to-win-an-oscar_us_58b3866fe4b060480e0905d3

Casey Affleck took home the award for Best actor in Manchester By The Sea. Don’t worry many people had a lot to say about this and the memes popped up again. One features Denzel Washington looking pissed. Emma Stone took home the award for best actress for her part in La La Land which also took home plenty of awards with the Damien Chazelle winning for Best Director (Being the youngest director to win an Oscar). Zootopia took home the award for the best animated feature film. I was so ecstatic for them. I’ve seen the movie and say it’s so good, you should totally check it out. I would be content if Kubo or Zootopia had won. My nephew and I enjoyed both films.

So lastly, let’s talk about the disaster that took place at the end of the night. We have two guest speakers on stage, Faye Dunaway and Warren Beatty who announced the wrong movie. “And the award for Best Picture goes to…La La Land.” And the cast and creators of the film get out of their seats shaking hands and smiling, walking up to the stage to accept the award only to find out, someone gave the guest speakers the wrong card. The real card showed instead that Moonlight won for Best Film instead of La La Land. This caused a firestorm across the web.

(Credit:

http://oscar.go.com/video/best-picture-nominees/after-mistaken-annoucement-moonlight-named-best-picture)

So tell me your thoughts and opinions about the Oscars, I’d love to hear them. Who did you want to win?

Below is the full list. Also, the winner's speeches are there as well.

http://oscar.go.com/winners - Best Actor: Casey Affleck - Best Actress: Emma Stone - Best Director: Damien Chazelle - Best Supporting Actor: Mahershala Ali - Best Supporting Actress: Viola Davis - Best Animated Film: Zootopia - Best Picture: Moonlight - Best Foreign Film: The Salesman - Best Documentary Film: OJ: Made in America - Best Hair and Makeup: Suicide Squad - Best Adapted Screenplay: Moonlight - Best Original Screenplay: Manchester By The Sea - Best Film Editing: Hacksaw Ridge - Best Cinematography: La La Land - Best Costume Design: Fantastic Beast and Where to Find Them - Best Original Score: La La Land - Best Original Song: La La Land - Best Production Design: La La Land - Best Sound Editing: Arrival - Best Visual Effects: The Jungle Book - Best Documentary Short Film: The White Helmets - Best Animated Short Film: Piper - Best Short Film: Sing

bottom of page