top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

TV Review: Crazy Head

What would you do if you could see things; things not of this world? Would you freak out? Or would you become a slayer of the underworld and kick some serious butt?

Meet Amy (played by Cara Theobold), a young woman who has been dealing with these strange visions all her life. Meet Raquel (played by Susan Wokoma), who also is experiencing the same thing but in a different way. Amy and Raquel have special abilities. They can see things no one else can. What are those things you ask? Demons. Yes, that’s right. Demons. These two fiery and spirited women face off against the forces of evil, while still dealing with love and life like every other twenty-something. Each episode we learn a little bit more about Amy, Raquel and the enemies they face against.

The plot of the show is a common theme in horror/comedy shows, movie, books, and video games yet they put their own twist to it. They make it unique in its own right. I really like the plot. And I like the romantic subplots as well. The characters are what really make the show for me.

I really do like Amy as a character. When we first see her, she’s this young, inexperienced, normal young woman who is dealing with, what she presumes to be, a mental disorder. But once she meets Raquel, a vivacious, crass young woman; she starts to find herself and discover what she is and why the demons are after them. We see Amy transform within the series to a head-strong, weapon-wielding, demon slayer that will take down anyone that’s in her way and poses a threat to her friends. I like the transformation of Amy. It makes her a well-rounded character that does grow from the situation she finds herself in. The character is then thrown into another battle; romance. Now this subplot is actually pretty funny. And the tension between the two men is both awkward and hilarious. So we are left wondering who she’s going to choose. Be sure to tell me who you think she’ll go with.

Raquel is another character that I like, that is also different from Amy. Raquel is so bold, strange and sensitive. And I really like both sides of her. There are times when she is running head first into danger without thought of consequences or a plan and then there are the other times when she’s trying her hardest to open up about her feelings or she’s crying. I also think this is a great well-rounded character. So we see throughout the series that she does come out of her shell a bit more. She’s still rough and tough but she’s letting people in. Point being another guy she meets in episode three. The rest of the episodes she completely lets herself go for love and trusting others only to find heartache. The development of both characters is something that I really enjoyed watching throughout the series.

So let’s talk about the comedy aspect of the show. Sometimes the comedy is really good. The worst episode for me is episode two. But my favorite episode is episode three, four, and five. Adding Jake (played by Lewis Reeves) was a good thing as his character was a bit more crass and outlandish than the others. His love for Amy is prevalent throughout the rest of the series. There are times that I felt the comedy wasn’t that good. Again, I’ll point to episode two. The Skating Rink is where the two young women head into danger and also a pivotal moment in the beginning. This is where the comedy for me wasn’t that good. Not only was this a time and place that was supposed to be serious but the jokes were not that well executed. Amy was a bit annoying with her remarks as well. I feel that this was intentional but it just wasn’t something I liked. But I also, again on episode two, I did like the scene at the supermarket where they are shopping for supplies and the cashier makes a startling remark that is funny. Who goes to the supermarket late in the morning to buy spades?

The relationship between Amy and Raquel is awkward at first. They are two people who happen to be alike in terms of them having special abilities to see demons in the human world. But when we look through the rest of the series, they start to grow on each other and understand each other. Their relationship blossoms from complete strangers to a friendship. I really like this aspect of the show as well.

Overall, I really like this show. The plot has a unique spin on the demon slaying idea. They remind me of Supernatural mixed with a pinch of Being Human, both the US and UK versions. I find this entire series to be enjoyable and a fun watch. I highly recommend you give this show a watch. So, snuggle under some covers, drink your favorite tea and get ready for a fantastic night of a demon slaying, sass-mouthed comedy show that’ll leave you to laugh your butt off (and checking your Netflix every so often to see that the next season is here). I know I will.

bottom of page