top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

V-Day: Overrated and Outdated!

February 14th, as we all know, is the designated day to celebrate your love for your significant other. For some, it means dates and chocolates, flowers and jewelry, you know, all those cliches, and tired customs. For others, it’s an outdated tradition made up by big businesses to get more of your money.

So is Valentine’s Day really such a great Holiday? Or is it just some day made special by corporate America to stick their hands in your pocket?

Okay, so maybe this article is going to be a little biased. I mean, I never liked Valentine’s Day. To be honest, I always thought it was a cheesy, stupid holiday. My thoughts; Shouldn’t "love" be celebrated every day and in spontaneous, non-materialistic ways?

I’m sure you’re already thinking either A. I’m only bashing the holiday because I am so completely unhappy and alone or B. I am with someone who could give a damn about me and doesn’t buy me “nice” things. You’re wrong to both.

I am happily married to a man who tries to show me every day how much he loves me. Whether it’s leaving little notes, preparing my breakfast, taking the kids for the day, surprising me with little day trips, cooking dinner, sending me flowers for no reason or sending me sappy country love song links.

We don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day. We both feel that buying each other things one day out of the year to “show” our love for one another is nonsense. Quite honestly, if the only time he did anything nice or romantic for me was on February 14th, he and I would have big problems.

Let’s look at this with a little more common sense and a little less feeling.

First things first. This is a holiday whose damn spokesman is a naked guy with wings who flies around and shoots people in the ass with arrows. Really? No one else finds that a tad creepy? I don’t know about you, but if I were to see a naked man coming towards me with a bow and arrow, I would be running like hell.

Need another reason? Okay, I’m sure since the day that someone decided to make it a Holiday, it has been leaving those who are unattached feel depressed, alone and unwanted. “Oh good! Another reminder that I’m single!” Not really what people need.

And, what happened to spontaneity? Correct me if I’m wrong but how amazing and excited are you to go to a romantic dinner on the 14th day of February? Isn’t it almost expected? I mean I don’t see the thrill in knowing what’s coming. Which leads me to my next point, expectations.

Even for people who are in relationships, Valentine’s day can be a set up for major disappointment. If you have high expectations for this day and your partner doesn’t go all out, how good are either of you really going to feel? The pressure and stress that women put on men for this day are a little ridiculous. Seriously, having unrealistic expectations can make you both miserable.

I think what made this day even more dreadful is social media. Everything is now a competition. No one enjoys the simple things any more thanks to others highlight reels on social platforms. You sign on Facebook and get to see all the posts and pictures of “Look what I got!” “He must really love me!” “Wow, I’m so spoiled!” It seems like it’s just another way for people to gloat and make themselves feel better. I am not hating, trust me, if my hubster were to walk in with jewelry and flowers wearing a banana hammock I wouldn’t complain one bit! If you get lavish gifts, good for you! All I’m simply stating is that when Samantha sees what Jane and Sarah got and her man walks in with a coupon book for “free love” she is most likely going to be upset with her partner.

When we’re young, were made to believe that Valentine’s Day is the most romantic day of the year. A day where two people express their love by showering each other with materialistic things. As we mature, I think we should realize that we should be treated like “princesses” all year long not just on one designated day. Love is a chore, it’s hard. You need to constantly work at it, not just one day a year but every day.

So Valentine’s Day, to you I say, peace out!

bottom of page