top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

New York City During The Holidays

New York City has a lot to offer, but when it comes to New York City around the holidays, not many places can compare. Th e city becomes one big magical ball of light, love, and laughter. People seem to slow down a little more to enjoy the ambiance of the season, which in my opinion, is something we should do on a daily basis anyway.

The first place that comes to mind is Rockefeller center. People come from near and far to see the gigantic Norway spruce. Covered in 45,000 LED lights, it's a great attraction to visit and enjoy with friends, family, or a significant other. I visited two years ago, for the first time with my mom and aunt. It was packed (and snowing!) But despite the crowds, getting to see the famous tree was well worth it.

Have you ever seen the Christmas lights at Dyker Heights, Brooklyn? The neighborhood of Dyker Heights decorates their houses every year, as a public spectacle. Having moved from CT, a friend took me to see it a few years ago, and I was in awe. I had seen neighborhoods decorated before, but the creativity that went into that neighborhood was astounding.

I don't know about you, but I'm a big fan of Union square, and around this time of year, they hold a union square holiday fair. Local Craftsmen and artists sell a plethora of unique gifts. I visited last year a few times and they had all sorts of gifts, ranging from hand-made art, handmade jewelry, hats, scarves, and various foods. Cute story, I was with a transgender glamorous friend of mine, and the merchants were asking him how he was and he ignored them, saying to me “I hate when people ask me questions when I’m shopping.” It wasn’t exactly nice, but I guess that’s his style.

If street fairs aren’t you’re thing, New York City is packed with Department stores that are decorative and festive for the holidays. Macy’s on 34th street provides a beautiful holiday window display that revisits scenes from the movie “A Miracle on 34th St.” Other impressively decorated department stores are Lord & Taylor, Bloomingdale's Saks Fifth avenue, and Barneys.

Tap Tap, It’s the rockets. When it comes to New York City holiday entertainment, look no further than the rockets. I went for my birthday one year and it was so surreal to see the rockets in person, since I’d always seen them on TV. They gave us 3D glasses and Santa and his reindeer would jump out at you. It was amazing!

If you have kids, there are plenty of places where your kids can spend time with Santa. At ABC carpet and Union Square, Santa is giving out ornaments and the whole event is free. Macy’s at 34th St offers the Santa holiday experience as well as photo packages for your little ones and family.

When I was little, I used to watch movies that were filmed in Manhattan and the skating rink in Central park was always in a few of the movies. Ice skating is a tradition for many around the holidays.

If you’re around New York City this holiday season, I hope I have given you some ideas of things to do. If you’re not from the Northeast, I hope you enjoy your holiday and find something festive to do. The holidays are always more enjoyable when you’re in the holiday spirit.


bottom of page