top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Holiday Gift Guide


Every year, usually the day after Halloween, we start to see Christmas decorations fill up the department stores. They also start advertising their "Black Friday " and "early bird shopping deals". The cable networks like Hallmark, Lifetime and Free-form, begin to play holiday/Christmas movies on a regular basis. Most people tend to become annoyed when the festivities and build up to the holidays start this early, but the truth is time never stops so it's always better to be early and prepared than be a "last minute person"

and feel as though you were rushed.

The start of next week brings us to the middle of November already. Which also means that the "holiday shopping season " will soon be in full swing before you know it. I don't know about you, but it bugs me when someone gives me a general gift for Christmas. General gifts are gifts that are interchangeable with anyone. Presents like; candles, makeup sets, lotion sets, perfumes, you get the picture. In my opinion if I receive one of those gifts I have listed above it tells me that you rushed into the first department store you saw open on Christmas Eve and just grab something off the shelf in a hurry just for the sake of getting me a gift, not really caring what the gift was or even if it's something I'd like. Personally, I'd much rather not even receive a gift at all than to be given a gift that is just going to end up in the trash hours later.

Often when I give someone a gift, after they open it they are usually surprised, and say something like "Wow, where did you get this?" I love it"

I'm not trying to brag, but most people say that I do great at finding the "perfect gift" for them. This year I’ve decided to let you all in on how I shop so you can finally stop buying your grandmother the same ole pair of slippers that she has grown to expect from you. Maybe this year you'll surprise her and get her something different. My four tips are as follows:

Shop online: I'll be honest I do all my shopping online. It is so much easier to just go onto a website than deal with the long lines of a department store. Another reason why I like shopping online is because you can take your time you could sit back and really think about what you would like to purchase for that person without having to rush to move through the aisle because you're blocking someone or you're in someone’s way. when you shop online the world is at your fingertips. You have a better variety of products from all around the world as opposed to shopping at the department stores where you have a very limited selection.

Social media is your friend: If you honestly have no clue what to buy someone, turn to their social media accounts. Pay attention to what they post, share and like. Lately Facebook has even been creating all sorts of ads that pop up on your news-feed that people share and "like" all day long. I can't tell you how many times I've seen a post from someone that says something like "oh I really want this shirt"! well there you go, you just found something that they want and you didn't even have to think very hard.

Be a detective: Sometimes to buy someone a good gift present you must be a detective.

Next time you see them pay attention to their style. Notice what they wear, what they don't wear, are they introverted or are they an extrovert? If they are introverted maybe a nice book from one of their favorite authors would be a good idea for a gift. If they are an extrovert maybe a gift card for one of those "wine and paint" nights would be a better fit. Music lovers would probably enjoy a pair of concert tickets or some sort of memorabilia from their favorite artist. The possibilities are endless you just should look for the hints that lead you in the right direction.

Give a gift that will help the person make a memory: One of my favorite gifts that I've gotten so far was a pair of tickets to see my favorite country artist Jake Owen in concert. My fiancé, Kristofer, bought me them as an anniversary gift this past August. We had so much fun that night I will truly remember it forever. I couldn't have chosen a better gift for myself. In my opinion the best gifts are when you give a gift that involves some sort of activity and being hands-on because it creates the opportunity to make a memory and that is something a boring Yankee candle cannot do.

If you need help finding a gift like this, I recommend you download the Groupon app. Groupon is an app that has coupons and discounts on all sorts of salons restaurants, and clothing, it even has Hotels and vacation deals. Groupon has a whole section called things to do anything on that list would make for a great holiday present.

So now that you've seen my list of tips, I am almost certain that if you follow this advice everyone will love their gifts and you will probably gain a love for Christmas shopping just like I have. Happy shopping everyone!


bottom of page